Experiment – Fail

Ok, I like all natural things – the fewer the chemicals the better.  Last month, I got a wild hair and thought, let me try homemade dishwasher detergent.  I read a bunch of recipes, read the reviews, and everything I read was great.  So I thought I’d give it a try.  This is one experiment that is a total fail.

 

Here’s the recipe:

 

2 Cups Borax

2 Cups Soda Crystals

1 Cup Citric Acid

1 Cup Kosher Salt

 

So I mixed it together and it immediately started to sizzle, like bacon.  Ok, so none of the reviews mentioned this.  And then it started to turn rock hard – again, nothing was mentioned about it.  So I went back to the web and found a few more reviews in which it was recommended to store in the fridge – so I did.  It was no longer rock hard, just powder.  And yes it stopped sizzling.

I used this homemade detergent for a month, and yes it is cheaper than the store bought stuff – averaging at about 5p/wash as compared to the store bought at 22p/tablet.  I thought this was going to be great!  I ran the first wash and there was this white film all over the dishes.  Yuck!  I ran it again and there was even more white film.  I had to take the dishes out and wash them by hand – basically a huge waste of time!  Over the month, it washed the dishes OK, but the glasses came out dirtier than before they went in so I had to continue to hand wash them.

So basically, this recipe is a loser and I would not recommend it to anyone.  I broke down and bought store bought tablets today and I still have half a tub left of the homemade stuff.

Have you tried this before?  Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong? Or make any suggestions?

About rmnvb1975

A modern day Cavewoman
This entry was posted in Healthy living, Paleo, Food, HEalthy Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

