Dried Fruit

Dried fruit is a fantastic Paleo snack.  You do have to be careful though, dried fruit concentrates the sugar already in the fruit and if you have to be careful about your sugar intake, then take care here.  The other thing about dried fruit is that store-bought dried fruit can also be expensive.

In true paleo form (well, except for the electricity), I like to dry my own.  When I go to the grocery store, I’m on the lookout for sale items that I can dry and save for later (.ie. bananas, apples, pears, etc).  Or if I already have fruit that no one seems to be eating, I will dry that too!  Not only is this healthier bu tit saves a bunch of money too!  Not only that, but the cavebabies like it too!

A few years ago, I bought a food dehydrator off of amazon.  You can spend anywhere from £50 – £500.  I am a firm believer that you get what you pay for, so I spent £100.00 and have used it many times to keep food from going to waste.  To me, this is money well spent.

This weekend I dried 6 apples.  They will store for months.  Waste not, want not.

  003

Here’s What You Need:

Apples – as many or as few as you want, washed, cored and sliced

Lemon Juice

Directions:

  • Wash, core and slice your apples.
  • Dip each slice into the lemon juice.  This will keep the apple slices from turning brown.  Make sure you cover both sides
  • Place each apple slice onto the drying tray.  Make sure the slices are not overlapping or touching.
  • 002
  • Follow the directions for your dehydrator.  With mine, I have to dry for 8 hours at 70 degrees celsius
  • 004006
  • At the end of the drying time, ensure the items truly are dry.  If they aren’t, simply turn it back on and keep drying.
  • Once it is done, I like to store mine in ziplock baggies then put them into a Tupperware container in a dark cupboard.  After about 24 hours, check the baggie to see if there is any condensation.  If there is, you’re not done drying.  Take ’em out and start drying again.  It’s important you remove all moisture as your food will mold – yuck!
  • 009(Above) 6 apples now easily fit in to 1 baggie
  • Enjoy either right there and save for later!

 

 

About rmnvb1975

A modern day Cavewoman
This entry was posted in Healthy living, Paleo, Food, HEalthy Lifestyle, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

