Venison and Sauted Mushrooms and Onions

It’s been about 10 years since a neighbor went hunting and brought back a portion of the deer to my house.  I’d forgotten how it tasted.  I was at a local farm yesterday when I saw they had a couple of venison steaks in the glass case.  They were the leanest looking meats in the entire case and I wanted them.  I bought three – they were expensive, but well worth it.

I served mine with a side of sauted mushrooms and onions with mixed veggies and that oh-so-good gluten-free beer (pardon any typos as its strong beer!).

Here’s What You Need:

Venison Steaks

Mushrooms – sliced

1 Onion – cut into big circles

Butter

Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  1. Put just a little bit of butter into a hot pan and let it melt.  The pan should be kept on a low flame during the entire process.001
  2. Add the mushrooms and onions.  Cook until the mushrooms start to release their juices.  At this point, scoot everything over to the side of the pan.
  3. On a cutting board, place the venison steak.  Add salt and pepper to both sides then add the steak to the pan.  Cook for desired doneness.  I like mine with just a bit of pink in it, so I cooked it for about 10 minutes on each side.  I found that this was absolutely perfect!004006
  4. Once your steak is done, take it out and place on a clean cutting board and let rest for about 5-10 minutes.  Then serve.011

Aside from bison, I found this to be one of the best steaks I have had in a long time.  Beef just doesn’t compare.  The venison steak was easy to cut into, and had a wonderful, succulent taste.  If you haven’t tried venison I highly recommend it!

 

About rmnvb1975

A modern day Cavewoman
This entry was posted in Healthy living, Paleo, Food, HEalthy Lifestyle, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

