Spicy, garlic prawn pasta

I will be totally honest with you.  Giving up wheat durum pasta on a Paleo diet has been hard.  For me, growing up, Sunday night spaghetti and meatballs with the family was one of the quintessential comfort foods.  When I started eating Paleo, I used pasta as one of my ‘cheat meals’ each week and I still felt bloated after eating it.  I came across Free From pasta which is a gluten-free pasta made from rice and corn.  I made it one night to try it on my toughest food critics:  The Cavebabies.  They went back for seconds and couldn’t tell I’d changed the most basic ingredient!  Ha!  Victory for me because now I can have my pasta and eat it too!

For this recipe, I did away with the traditional, homemade tomato sauce in favor of garlic prawns.  This tasted heavenly and I went back for more until I had no leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch.

Once the pasta is cooked, it literally takes about 6-8 minutes to cook the prawns.  It’s fast and simple.

002

Here’s What You Need:

Free From Pasta – cooked and drained ready to go on your plate

1-2 cloves of garlic – peeled and chopped

Olive Oil

Butter

Prawns, either cooked or uncooked – peeled and deveined

Parsley

Re Pepper Flakes (optional)

Directions:

  1. Add olive oil and butter to a hot pan.  I usually add a fair bit as I like a bit of extra sauce to cover the pasta in.  The butter is added to make it a bit creamier.
  2. Once the butter is melted, add the chopped garlic.  Saute for a minute until it goes translucent.  It doesn’ take long.
  3. Add prawns and cook through
  4. Once the prawns are cooked through, sprinkle on the parsley and red pepper flakes.  If you don’t like spicy, then leave that out.  Put it on top of the pasta, and you’re ready to dig in!

Enjoy! Let me know what you think!

 

About rmnvb1975

A modern day Cavewoman
This entry was posted in Healthy living, Paleo, Food, HEalthy Lifestyle, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

