Food Review – Gluten Free Tortillas

It’s January and I am tired of the gray, gloomy days of winter.  I am from Texas and I crave the sun!  I mean, I NEED the sun.  So today, I took maters into my own hands, and I made Tex-Mex for dinner.  Sunshine on your plate and in your tummy!  All the colors and the flavors that remind you of being home with the family on a warm sunny evening, knocking back a few beers and not having a care in the world.  You know what I’m talking about: tomatoes, onions, avocados, bell peppers, jalapenos, beef, all wrapped up in a tortilla.  Well, I tried one new ingredient tonight:  Gluten-free, dairy-free (and fun-free) tortillas.

I was not impressed with these tortillas.  This was the first time I’d seen them in the store. The flavor was good – tasted a bit like rice.  I would hope so since they are made of rice flour.  But it was like chewing shoe leather!  After the first tortilla, my mouth actually got sore from chewing!  Additionally, they were too small to be properly loaded up with all of that Tex-Mex goodness.  They would not roll properly and everything kept falling out.  I want a tortilla that covers the entire plate – not just 1/4 of it!  In the end, I gave up trying to roll it, hold everything in or even chew it and dumped everything on the plate and ate it with a fork.  So instead of tacos, I had taco salad without the salad bit.  Oh well, they can’t all be winners!   I will not be buying those again.012

Next time, when I find them, I am going to try all corn tortillas – they’re supposedly a lot better.  You just can’t have tacos without the tortilla!

014

 

About rmnvb1975

A modern day Cavewoman
This entry was posted in Healthy living, Paleo, Food, HEalthy Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Review – Gluten Free Tortillas

  1. My family LOVES mexican food. I have texan roots. It has been a challenge finding paleo friendly tortillas and I’m still on the hunt for something I can stomach. In the meantime I have found I enjoy butter lettuce as my tortilla. I know it’s not the same. But I feel like I’m eating a soft taco and it’s better for me. And doesn’t take me an hour to chew the shoe leather. I did find a recipe to make my own tortillas. I will let you know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

