What Do I Drink Now?

What do I drink now?  That was one of the first things I asked myself when I first started living a Paleo lifestyle.  I was use to drinking southern style sweet tea, fruit juices (apple, orange, V8, etc) or sodas (every once in a while).  I very rarely drank water!

When I started reading the labels on each of these items, I couldn’t believe how much sugar and high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) was in each beverage.  I knew there was some sugar, but I was shocked at the amount.  Here is what I drink on a strict Paleo lifestyle.  I have found that it works for me.

Water.  This is mother nature’s natural sports drink.  I drink it throughout the day, during workouts, etc.  I like to put a slice of lemon or lime to jazz it up a bit.

Tea.  Any type of tea will work, but my poison is green tea.  I like a cuppa in the morning and in the evening.  Green tea is fantastic because you don’t put any sugar or milk in it.  Drink it straight up.  Now, if I go to a friend’s house who wants to serve me tea (it’s typically black tea), I drink it black, no sugar.  Not the best, but it’s still adhering to the Paleo principle.

Coffee.  I don’t particularly care for hot coffee, but I do like a nice iced coffee – Paleo style that is (see below for the recipe).  I will usually only have 1-2 cups a month.

Alcohol.  There are mixed reviews on this.  Some say you can’t have this on a Paleo lifestyle, because cavemen didn’t have it, but I look at it this way, in moderation, as an every once in a while thing it’s not bad.  I try to stick to ciders, since that’s fruit and try to stay away from beer, but sometimes it doesn’t work.  So I just try to limit what I drink.

Paleo Iced Coffee

Here’s What You Need:

Coffee of your choice

Cinnamon

Coconut Milk

Ice Cubes

Fructose

002

Directions:

Make the coffee ahead of time and put in the fridge to chill for several hours.  When the coffee is cooled, place in a blender with 4-6 ice cubes, 1 tsp of fructose and the coconut milk (to your desired level).  Turn the blender on and mix together well.  You’ll have a nice iced coffee!

001

005

About rmnvb1975

A modern day Cavewoman
This entry was posted in Healthy living, Paleo, Food, HEalthy Lifestyle, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Do I Drink Now?

  1. Nice occupation, it’s an excellent post. The data is good to recognize!

Leave a Reply

